Homemade Organic Chicken Broth

There are many recipes for making chicken broth out there.  Some people add vegetables to their stocks but since I make my own Homemade Organic Vegetable Stock I generally don’t add any to my chicken broths or stocks.  I also do not season my stocks because I want to be able to do that when I make my dishes since each one requires a slightly different amount of salt and other seasonings.  I generally just add the chicken broth or stock to a recipe and some vegetable stock as well.  To each their own, but this works for me.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 or 2 organic boiler chickens (preferably free-range)
  • Enough unchlorinated and unfluoridated water to cover the chickens

Here’s how I do it:

  1. Boil the chicken(s) on low heat until done which is approximately 1 hour for one chicken or 1 hour and 25 minutes for two.  Always make sure that the chickens are thawed completely before cooking.
  2. Once they have cooked, take them out of the pot and place on a plate to cool.
  3. Pour the liquid into glass containers.  I use Ball canning jars with plastic lids.  Place the chicken broth into the refrigerator if you’ll use it within 5-7 days or place it into the freezer (Make sure you have left ample space for freezing!) if you won’t use it in that time frame.
  4. Once the chicken has cooled, take the meat off the bones.  I usually separate it into different piles:  bones and cartilage for stock, light meat and dark meat for recipes.

Definitely reserve the bones for chicken stock!  You can freeze the bones and thaw them before making the stock.

Leave a Reply

